Logo of Cluster Initiative Bavaria

Medical technology

High tech in an international growth industry

With worldwide sales of approximately €320 billion and annual growth rates of 5 to 6 percent, medical technology is one of the key industries of the future. Bavaria is home to more than 500 dedicated medical technology compa­nies with approximately €10 billion in sales. Additionally there are about 500 enterprises in the medical technol­ogy supplier and service provider segments, with total sales of approximately €5 billion. Around 80,000 highly qualified employees work in this industry overall. Bavaria therefore takes on a leading role in Germany and Europe. Businesses in Bavaria generate approximately one third of Germany’s production. As a matter of fact, more than 3 percent of the world’s medical technology comes from Bavaria.

This medical technology and clinical expertise is comple­mented by a top-class medical-clinical infrastructure.

The focused cooperation and application-oriented net­working of technologists and physicians are essential pil­lars for innovation. This is why the Bavarian Ministry of Economic Affairs, Regional Development and Energy promotes the medical technology cluster platform. Two well-established, very successful organizations in Bavaria are the joint sponsors of this cluster: Forum MedTech Pharma e.V. is the largest interdisciplinary network in Ba­varia, Germany, and Europe in the area of medical tech­nology and the healthcare industry with more than 500 members.

The association promotes cooperation, brokers contacts, and provides information on the latest trends and innova­tions in the course of cluster management.

Medical Valley European Metropolitan Region Nurem­berg ( EMN ) is a leading international cluster in the medical technology field. Functioning as a cluster management or­ganization since 2007, Medical Valley EMN e.V. is an amal­gamation of currently 210 members from industry, sci­ence, healthcare, networks, and politics. The central tasks of cluster management are further development, coordina­tion, and marketing of the cluster.

More

Focus Areas

World-class research and development projects in particu­lar will be stimulated and implemented over the next few years, accelerating the digitalization of healthcare, utilizing cross-industry innovation approaches, promoting interna­tionalization in healthcare, and supporting start-ups dur­ing the founding phase and establishment in the market. Among other things, consortia will be assisted with fund­ing acquisition and successful network platforms such as the MedTech Summit Conference and expert groups will be expanded.

Less
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Böcker

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Böcker

Cluster Spokesman

[Translate to English:] Prof. Dr.-Ing. Erich R. Reinhar

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Erich R. Reinhardt

Cluster Spokesman

Dr. Jörg Traub

Cluster Managing Director

[Translate to English:] Jörg Trinkwalter

Jörg Trinkwalter

Cluster Managing Director

Logo der Cluster Offensive Bayern

Medizintechnik

Hightech in internationaler Wachstumsbranche

Mit einem weltweiten Umsatz von ca. 320 Milliarden Euro und jährlichen Wachstumsraten von 5 bis 6 Prozent ist die Medizintechnik eine der Schlüsselbranchen der Zukunft. Im Freistaat Bayern sind über 500 dedizierte Medizintechnikunternehmen mit ca. 10 Milliarden Euro Umsatz beheimatet. Hinzu kommen nochmals ca. 500 Betriebe aus den Bereichen Zulieferer und Dienstleister für Medizintechnik mit insgesamt ca. 5 Milliarden Euro Umsatz. Insgesamt arbeiten rund 80.000 hochqualifizierte Beschäftigte in dieser Branche. Bayern nimmt damit eine Führungsrolle in Deutschland und Europa ein. Rund ein Drittel der deutschen Produktion generieren Betriebe aus Bayern. Sogar mehr als drei Prozent der weltweiten Medizintechnik kommt aus dem Freistaat. Diese medizintechnische und klinische Kompetenz wird durch eine hochkarätige medizinisch-klinische Infrastruktur ergänzt.

Ein wesentlicher Pfeiler für Innovationen sind gezielte Kooperationen und eine anwendungsnahe Vernetzung von Technologen und Medizinern. Vor diesem Hintergrund fördert das Bayerische Wirtschaftsministerium die Clusterplattform Medizintechnik. Gemeinsame Träger dieses Clusters sind zwei etablierte, sehr erfolgreich arbeitende Organisationen in Bayern: Der Forum MedTech Pharma e. V. ist das größte interdisziplinäre Netzwerk in Bayern, Deutschland und Europa im Bereich Medizintechnik und Gesundheitswirtschaft mit mehr als 500 Mitgliedern. Im Rahmen des Clustermanagements fördert der Verein Kooperationen, vermittelt Kontakte und informiert über neueste Trends und Innovationen.

Das Medical Valley Europäische Metropolregion Nürnberg ( EMN ) ist ein international führendes Cluster im Bereich Medizintechnik. Als Clustermanagement-Organisation fungiert seit 2007 der Medical Valley EMN e. V., ein Zusammenschluss von aktuell 210 Mitgliedern aus Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft, Gesundheitsversorgung, Netzwerken und Politik. Zentrale Aufgaben des Clustermanagements sind die Weiterentwicklung, Koordination und Vermarktung des Clusters.

Mehr anzeigen

Schwerpunkte

In den nächsten Jahren sollen insbesondere hochkarätige Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekte stimuliert und realisiert werden, die die Digitalisierung des Gesundheitswesens beschleunigen, Cross-Industry-Innovationsansätze nutzen, die Internationalisierung im Gesundheitswesen fördern sowie Start-ups während der Gründungsphase und bei der Etablierung am Markt unterstützen. Hierzu werden u. a. Konsortien bei der Fördermittelakquisition unterstützt und erfolgreiche Netzwerkplattformen, wie der Kongress MedTech Summit oder Expertengremien, ausgebaut.

Weniger anzeigen
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Böcker

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Böcker

Clustersprecher

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Erich R. Reinhar

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Erich R. Reinhardt

Clustersprecher

Dr. Jörg Traub

Dr. Jörg Traub

Clustergeschäftsführer

Jörg Trinkwalter

Jörg Trinkwalter

Clustergeschäftsführer