Logo of Cluster Initiative Bavaria

New materials

From materials to innovations

Bavaria is one of the international leaders in the field of new materials and has the best prerequisites to play the leading role in the future. The New Materials Cluster is the Bavarian-wide information, communication, and co­operation platform in the new materials field. It ana­lyzes technology trends in the areas of materials and pro­cesses in order to realize potential for material and product innovations.

By successfully networking experts in the field of science with industry decision makers in all sectors, the cluster es­tablishes platforms that serve as innovation catalysts. The New Materials Cluster promotes cooperation between all players along the entire value chain. Impetus is provided for new ideas and innovations, gaps in value chains are filled, and networks are successfully established.

More

This is done within the scope of overarching core topics:

  • Additive manufacturing
  • Lightweight and multi-material design
  • Resource efficiency and sustainability

Within the framework of these core topics, polymers, me­tallic materials, fiber composites, technical ceramics and glass, and functionalized surfaces and technical textiles, for example, are combined with material and process de­velopment subject matter, also with regard to the use of AI.

Offers are consistently aligned with the needs of cluster players. Close cooperation with regional networks and ini­tiatives is a key pillar.

Less
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Marion Merklein

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Marion Merklein

Cluster Spokeswoman

Dr. Nicole de Boer

Cluster Managing Director

Logo der Cluster Offensive Bayern

Neue Werkstoffe

Vom Material zur Innovation

Bayern gehört beim Thema »Neue Werkstoffe« zur internationalen Spitze und verfügt über beste Voraussetzungen, auch in Zukunft ganz vorne mitzuspielen. Der Cluster Neue Werkstoffe ist die bayernweite Informations-, Kommunikations- und Technologieplattform auf dem Gebiet der Neuen Materialien. Er analysiert Technologietrends im Bereich Materialien und Prozesse und erarbeitet daraus Potenziale für Werkstoff- und Produktinnovationen.

Durch die erfolgreiche Vernetzung von Experten aus der Wissenschaft mit Entscheidern aus der Industrie aller Branchen schafft der Cluster Platt­formen, die als »Katalysator« für Innovationen fungieren. Kooperationen aller Akteure entlang der gesamten Werktschöpfungskette werden vom Cluster Neue Werkstoffe gefördert. Impulse für neue Ideen und Innovationen werden gefördert und Lücken in Wertschöpfungsketten geschlossen sowie erfolgreich Netzwerke etabliert.

Mehr anzeigen

Dies erfolgt im Rahmen übergreifender Leitthemen:

  • Additive Fertigung
  • Leichtbau und Multimaterialdesign
  • Ressourceneffizienz und Nachhaltigkeit

Im Rahmen dieser Leitthemen werden beispielsweise Polymere, metallische Werkstoffe, Faserverbundmaterialien, technische Keramiken und Glas sowie funktionalisierte Oberflächen und technische Textilien mit der Thematik Material- und Prozessentwicklung kombiniert, auch im Hinblick auf den Einsatz von KI.

Die Angebote orientieren sich konsequent an den Bedürfnissen der Clusterakteure. Eine wesentliche Säule bildet die enge Zusammenarbeit mit regionalen Netzwerken und Initiativen.

Weniger anzeigen
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Marion Merklein

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Marion Merklein

Clustersprecherin

Prof. Dr. Rudolf Stauber

Prof. Dr. Rudolf Stauber

Clustersprecher

Bildquelle: Bayern Innovativ GmbH

Dr. Nicole de Boer

Clustergeschäftsführer