Logo of Cluster Initiative Bavaria

Mechatronics and automation

The core of Industry 4.0

Through the integration of IT in electromechanical sys­tems, the mechatronics paradigm has had a lasting impact on innovation in many sectors. Today it forms the basis for the digitalization of products, processes, and business models – and therefore also for Industry 4.0. In Bavaria, this applies to industrial key sectors with approximately 50 percent of all industry employees.

The cluster has established itself as a communication and cooperation platform of leading experts for mechatronics & automation in science and industry. Cluster players have conducted more than 50 research and innovation projects to date, focusing on mechanical engineering and plant construction, the electrical and electronics industry, med­icine, and vehicle technology. Thus, the cluster provides valuable support in the digitalization of the product crea­tion process and, with its »mechatronikakademie«, is ded­icated to the adequate qualification of current and future specialists.

Cluster topics of strategic importance are handled by SITs (Strategic Innovation Teams). The definition of these top­ics and participation in the SITs are among the leading benefits of cluster membership. More than 200 members from industry and science in conjunction with Bavaria’s economic and innovation policy support the positioning of »their« cluster as a successful private-public partnership and as a location factor for an innovative Bavaria.

More

Focus Areas

  • Safety in production
  • Mechatronic drive technology
  • Industrial additive manufacturing
  • Digitalization and Industry 4.0
  • Collaborative robotics
  • AI in production

Cluster management creates spaces where companies, research and educational institutions, and other players can gather and work together. Offers include technical and networking events, the previously mentioned work­ing groups, and cooperation projects, for instance in prod­uct and process innovation or internationalization. Cluster members also present their innovative capacity through joint exhibition stands at regional trade fairs and leading in­ternational fairs or publications in cluster media.

Less
[Translate to English:] Prof. Dr. Jörg Franke

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jörg Franke

Cluster Spokesman

[Translate to English:] Heiko Bartschat

Heiko Bartschat

Cluster Managing Director

Logo der Cluster Offensive Bayern

Mechatronik und Automation

Kern der Industrie 4.0

Das Paradigma der Mechatronik hat durch die Integration der IT in elektromechanische Systeme die Innovation in vielen Branchen nachhaltig geprägt und ist heute die Basis für die Digitalisierung von Produkten, Prozessen und Geschäftsmodellen – so auch für die Industrie 4.0. In Bayern gilt dies für industrielle Schlüsselbranchen mit rund 50 Prozent aller Industriebeschäftigten.

Der Cluster hat sich als Kommunikations- und Kooperationsplattform führender Experten für Mechatronik & Automation aus Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft etabliert. Von den Clusterakteuren wurden bisher über 50 Forschungs- und Innovationsprojekte bearbeitet, im Schwerpunkt in den Branchen Maschinen- und Anlagenbau, Elektro- und Elektronikindustrie, Medizin- oder Fahrzeugtechnik. So leistet der Cluster wertvolle Unterstützung bei der Digitalisierung des Produktentstehungsprozesses und setzt sich mit seiner Mechatronikakademie für eine adäquate Qualifikation von heutigen und künftigen Fachkräften ein.

Strategisch wichtige Themen im Cluster werden durch SITs (Strategic Innovation Teams) bearbeitet. Die Definition dieser Themen und die Mitwirkung in den SITs zählen zu den wichtigsten Vorteilen der Mitgliedschaft im Cluster. Mehr als 200 Mitglieder aus Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft unterstützen gemeinsam mit der bayerischen Wirtschafts- und Innovationspolitik die Positionierung »ihres« Clusters als gelungene Private-Public-Partnership und als Standortfaktor für ein innovationsstarkes Bayern.

Mehr anzeigen

Schwerpunkte

  • Sicherheit in der Produktion
  • Mechatronische Antriebstechnik
  • Industrielle Additive Fertigung
  • Digitalisierung und Industrie 4.0
  • Kollaborative Robotik
  • KI in der Produktion

Das Clustermanagement schafft Räume, in denen Unternehmen, Forschungs- und Bildungseinrichtungen und weitere Akteure zusammen­kommen und zusammenarbeiten können. Zum Angebot zählen Fach- und Netzwerkveranstaltungen, die bereits genannten Arbeitsgruppen oder Kooperationsprojekte z.B. zur Produkt- und Prozessinnovation oder zur Internationalisierung. Auch über Gemeinschaftsstände auf regionalen Fach- und internationalen Leitmessen oder Veröffentlichungen in Clustermedien zeigen Clustermitglieder ihre Innovationskraft.

    Weniger anzeigen
    Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gunther Reinhart

    Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gunther Reinhart

    Clustersprecher

    Prof. Dr. Jörg Franke

    Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jörg Franke

    Clustersprecher

    Heiko Bartschat

    Heiko Bartschat

    Clustergeschäftsführer