Logo of Cluster Initiative Bavaria

Food

Tradition and innovation for a leading position

The agriculture and food sector in Bavaria, with sales of approximately €100 billion and over 700,000 jobs, is among the industries with the highest sales and one of the most labor-intensive. Traditions, combined with ultra­modern manufacturing procedures and innovations as well as effective systems for quality assurance and traceability, guarantee a leading position for the Bavarian food indus­try in Europe.

With the objective of increasing the competitive ability and innovation capacity of Bavaria’s nutrition sector, the Food Cluster focuses on promoting innovations in the food industry. Activities and event formats encompass cross-sectoral as well as industry-specific topics. The clus­ter is involved in topics with relevance for the future, such as digitalization in production and retail, as well as with regional and traditional food products from Bavaria. The knowledge and expertise of universities, colleges, and re­search institutions is delivered in a practical manner for specific target groups, thereby enabling the transfer of knowledge to production and manufacturing.

Small to midsize enterprises are the primary target group. They in particular reach their limits or are subject to per­sonnel bottlenecks when it comes to finding innovative, problem-solving approaches for their specific needs. The Food Cluster supports these companies with new project ideas and innovative measures, project manage­ment, professional execution, and marketing.

As the network's central platform, the cluster brings the players in the nutrition and food sector together: agricul­ture, the food craftwork, the producing food business, science and research, retail, service providers, and con­sumers. The Food Cluster also has a strong network on the international level that is committed to the concerns and requirements of companies in the agri-food industry. Presence at international trade fairs, trips abroad, or con­tact mediation to enterprises in other countries – the Food Cluster finds the right contact person. Likewise, the clus­ter forwards inquiries from abroad to competent partners in Bavaria.

Angela Inselkammer

Cluster Spokeswoman
President of the Bavarian Hotel and Restaurant Association DEHOGA Bayern e.V.

[Translate to English:] Dr. Simon Reitmeier

Dr. Simon Reitmeier

Cluster Managing Director

Logo der Cluster Offensive Bayern

Ernährung

Tradition und Innovation für einen Spitzenplatz

Die Land- und Ernährungswirtschaft zählt in Bayern mit rund 100 Milliarden Euro Umsatz zu den umsatzstärksten und mit über 700.000 Arbeitsplätzen zu den beschäftigungsintensivsten Branchen. Tradition in Kombination mit hochmodernen Herstellungsverfahren und Innovationen, sowie effektive Systeme der Qualitäts- und Herkunftssicherung garantieren der bayerischen Ernährungswirtschaft einen Spitzenplatz in Europa.

Mit dem Ziel, die Wettbewerbs- und Innovationsfähigkeit des Ernährungsstandortes Bayern zu stärken, hat das Cluster Ernährung einen starken Fokus auf die Förderung von Innovationen in der Lebensmittel­­wirtschaft. Die Aktivitäten und Veranstaltungsformate greifen branchenübergreifende sowie branchenspezifische Themen auf. Zukunftsthemen, wie die Digitalisierung in Produktion und Handel, werden hierbei genauso bearbeitet wie das Thema regionale und traditionelle Lebensmittel aus Bayern. Das Wissen und Know-how der Universitäten, Hochschulen und Forschungseinrichtungen wird zielgruppengerecht und praxisnah aufbereitet und dadurch der Wissenstransfer in die Produktion und Herstellung ermöglicht.

Zielgruppe sind in erster Linie kleine und mittlere Unternehmen. Gerade diese stoßen vielfach an ihre Grenzen oder geraten in personelle Engpässe, wenn es darum geht, innovative Problemlösungsansätze für ihre individuellen Bedürfnisse zu finden. Das Cluster Ernährung unterstützt diese Unternehmen bei neuen Projektideen und innovativen Vorhaben, bei Projektmanagement, professioneller Durchführung und Vermarktung.

Als zentrale Plattform des Netzwerks bringt das Cluster die Akteure im Sektor Ernährung und Lebensmittel zusammen: Landwirtschaft, Ernährungshandwerk, produzierendes Ernährungsgewerbe, Wissenschaft und Forschung, Handel, Dienstleister und Verbraucher. Das Cluster Ernährung hat auch auf internationaler Ebene ein starkes Netzwerk, das sich für die Anliegen und Vorgaben der Unternehmen aus der Land- und Ernährungswirtschaft einsetzt. Internationale Messeauftritte, Auslandsreisen oder Kontaktvermittlung zu Unternehmen im Ausland – das Cluster Ernährung findet den richtigen Ansprechpartner. Ebenso vermittelt das Cluster Anfragen aus dem Ausland an kompetente Partner innerhalb Bayerns.

Angela Inselkammer

Clustersprecherin

Dr. Simon Reitmeier

Dr. Simon Reitmeier

Clustergeschäftsführer