Logo of Cluster Initiative Bavaria

MAI Carbon

MAI Carbon – bundled competence for CFRP applications

The MAI Carbon Cluster of Composites United e. V. (CU) in Bavaria pursues the objective of implementing light­weight construction technologies on an industrial scale for various user sectors. To achieve this goal, spring in­novations throughout the complete component life cycle are required, i.e. starting from fiber and matrix material, through the manufacture of components and product sys­tems, to coherent recycling concepts.

Currently more than 130 partners – who are also CU mem­bers – bundle their knowledge to further extend the tech­nology leadership for the use of CFRP components in mass production, and to make Bavaria the world leader in the area of fiber composite technology. Intensive collabo­ration between well-known major companies and technol­ogy leaders of the application industries – automotive en­gineering, aviation and aerospace, mechanical engineering and plant construction – along with fiber manufacturers and manufacturers of semi-finished products makes the MAI Carbon Cluster unique.

Thus Bavaria has become a leading innovation center for fiber composite materials, attracting companies from all over the world. MAI Carbon networks them and provides the framework for collaboration across sectors based on mutual trust.

More

Cluster as a motor for the region

The concentration of all relevant companies and institu­tions along the value chain of future materials with car­bon fiber reinforcement is a noteworthy and unique sell­ing proposition in the tri-city area of Munich, Augsburg and Ingolstadt (MAI). Thus an ideal basis is available to leverage carbon composites material technology in vari­ous industries, such as the automotive industry, aviation and aerospace, but also mechanical engineering. The pre­requisite in this regard is a networked and concerted ap­proach coordinated by the MAI Carbon Cluster. MAI Car­bon also builds bridges in international value chains and promotes demand-driven global market access in cooper­ation with partners. Another important aspect of the clus­ter’s work is the ongoing further development of educa­tional content, ranging from early childhood education to bachelor or master courses of study.

Less
[Translate to English:] Prof. Dr. Klaus Drechsler

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Klaus Drechsler

Cluster Spokesman and Chairman

[Translate to English:] Dr. Tjark von Reden

Dr. Tjark von Reden

Managing Director

Logo der Cluster Offensive Bayern

MAI Carbon

Gebündelte Kompetenz für CFK-Anwendungen

Der Cluster MAI Carbon des Composites United e.V. (CU) verfolgt bayernweit das Ziel, Leichtbautechnologien großindustriell für verschiedene Anwenderbranchen zu implementieren. Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, sind Sprunginnovationen entlang des kompletten Bauteil-Lebenszyklus erforderlich, d. h. ausgehend vom Faser- und Matrixmaterial über die Fertigung der Bauteile und Produktsysteme bis hin zu schlüssigen Recyclingkonzepten.

Aktuell bündeln über 130 Partner – die zugleich auch Mitglied im CU sind – ihr Wissen, um die Technologieführerschaft beim Einsatz von CFK-Bauteilen in der Massenproduktion auszubauen und Bayern im Bereich Faserverbundtechnik zum weltweiten Leuchtturm zu entwickeln. Die intensive Zusammenarbeit namhafter deutscher Großunternehmen und Technologieführer der Anwendungsbranchen Automobilbau, Luft- und Raumfahrt, Maschinen- und Anlagenbau sowie Faser- und Halbzeug­hersteller macht den Cluster MAI Carbon einzigartig.

Bayern ist so zu einem führenden Innovationszentrum für Faserverbund­werkstoffe geworden und zieht Unternehmen aus der ganzen Welt an. MAI Carbon vernetzt diese und schafft den Rahmen für eine vertrauensvolle branchenübergreifende Zusammenarbeit.

Mehr anzeigen

Cluster als Motor für die Region

Die Konzentration aller maßgeblichen Unternehmen und Institutionen entlang der Wertschöpfungskette der Zukunftswerkstoffe mit Carbonfaserverstärkung ist ein bemerkenswertes Alleinstellungsmerkmal im Städtedreieck München, Augsburg und Ingolstadt (MAI). Damit ist eine ideale Basis vorhanden, der Werkstofftechnologie Carbon Composites in den unterschiedlichen Branchen, wie der Automobilindustrie, der Luft- und Raumfahrtindustrie, aber auch im Maschinenbau, zum Durchbruch zu verhelfen. Voraussetzung dafür ist ein vernetztes und abgestimmtes Vorgehen, das durch den Cluster MAI Carbon koordiniert wird. Weiterhin ist MAI Carbon Brückenbauer in internationalen Wertschöpfungsketten und forciert gemeinsam mit den Partnern bedarfsgerecht weltweite Marktzugänge. Weitere wichtige Komponente der Clusterarbeit ist die stetige Weiterentwicklung von Bildungsinhalten von der frühkindlichen Bildung bis hin zu Bachelor- und Masterprogrammen.

Weniger anzeigen
Prof. Dr. Klaus Drechsler

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Klaus Drechsler

Clustersprecher und Vorstand

Dr. Tjark von Reden

Dr. Tjark von Reden

Geschäftsführer