Aerospace

Excellence in aerospace and space applications

Bavaria is one of the most prestigious aerospace locations in Europe. Approximately 38,000 employees generate a turnover of more than €10 billion a year. Bavaria stands for total system capacity and covers the complete value chain in the civil as well as military aerospace segments – from research and development to production and extending to service and support.

The enterprise landscape ranges from small innovative suppliers to multinational groups; with 18 Bavarian research institutes and universities, the research infrastructure is optimally formed.

More

Objectives and focus areas

Aerospace applications are important growth and innovation engines for the Bavarian economy. bavAIRia e.V. headquartered in Oberpfaffenhofen has extended its cluster management with over 280 members since it was founded in 2006. The predominant objective is to increase international competitiveness of the industry in Bavaria. Prioritized action fields are technology transfer, marketing/ international visibility, supply chain management, in the training and further education of specialists, as well as internationalization. Various event formats are offered, such as working groups, seminars, business breakfasts devoted to current topics, for example, digitalization, 3D print or project management, and export control.

Key topics in aviation

  • Unmanned Aircraft Systems (UAS)
  • Supply chain management
  • Initiatives for innovation and cooperation

Key topics in space travel

  • Copernicus (global monitoring for environment and security)
  • SatNav applications (e.g. in the areas of tourism, traffic, air pollution control, environment and health, agriculture and forestry)
  • Legal and financing issues

Moreover, international projects are executed with partners from Bavarian industry and research institutes. The cluster has an extensive network of contacts to companies, research institutes, ministries, and government agencies in Germany and abroad which is used to support its internationalization.

Less
[Translate to English:] Johann Heitzmann

Johann Heitzmann

Cluster Spokesman
Chairman of the board of bavAIRia

[Translate to English:] Andreas Gundel

Andreas Gundel

Cluster Spokesman
Member of the board of bavAIRia

[Translate to English:] Frank Negretti

Frank Negretti

Cluster Spokesman
Member of the board of bavAIRia

[Translate to English:] Peter Schwarz

Peter Schwarz

Cluster Managing Director

Aerospace

Exzellenz in Luftfahrt, Raumfahrt und Raumfahrt­anwendungen

Bayern ist einer der renommiertesten Luft- und Raumfahrtstandorte in Europa. Rund 38.000 Beschäftigte erwirtschaften einen Umsatz von über 10 Milliarden Euro pro Jahr. Bayern steht für Gesamtsystemfähigkeit und deckt im zivilen wie im militärischen Bereich die vollständige Wertschöpfungskette in der Luft- und Raumfahrt ab – von der Forschung über die Entwicklung und Produktion bis zum In Service Support.

Die Unternehmenslandschaft reicht vom kleinen innovativen Zulieferer bis hin zum global auftretenden Konzern, die Forschungsinfrastruktur ist mit 18 ansässigen Forschungseinrichtungen und Hochschulen exzellent ausgebildet.

Mehr anzeigen

Ziele und Schwerpunkte

Luftfahrt, Raumfahrt und Raumfahrtanwendungen sind wichtige Wachstums- und Innovationsmotoren für die bayerische Wirtschaft. Der bavAIRia e. V. mit Sitz in Oberpfaffenhofen hat seit 2006 das Clustermanagement mit über 260 Mitgliedern aufgebaut. Übergeordnetes Ziel ist es, die internationale Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der Branche in Bayern zu stärken. Dies geschieht u. a. in den Bereichen Technologietransfer, Marketing/Internationale Sichtbarkeit, Supply Chain Management, bei der Aus- und Weiterbildung von Fachkräften sowie der Internationalisierung. Angeboten werden verschiedene Veranstaltungsformate wie Arbeitsgruppen, Seminare, Business Breakfast zu aktuellen Themen wie Digitalisierung, 3D-Druck oder Projektmanagement und Exportkontrolle.

Schwerpunktthemen für die Luftfahrtforen sind aktuell:

  • Unbemannte fliegende Systeme (UAS)
  • Supply Chain Management
  • Initiative zur Innovation und Kooperation

Für die Raumfahrtforen sind es:

  • Copernicus (Global Monitoring for Environment and Security)
  • SatNav-Anwendungen (z. B. in Tourismus, Verkehr, Luftreinhaltung, Umwelt und Gesundheit, Land- und Forstwirtschaft)
  • Rechts- und Finanzierungsfragen

Darüber hinaus werden internationale Projekte mit Partnern aus der bayerischen Industrie und Forschungseinrichtungen bearbeitet. Das Cluster verfügt über ein umfangreiches Netzwerk von Kontakten zu Unternehmen, Forschungseinrichtungen, Ministerien und Behörden im Inland und Ausland, das insbesondere bei der Unterstützung der Internationalisierung genutzt wird.

Weniger anzeigen
Johann Heitzmann

Johann Heitzmann

Clustersprecher und Vorstandsvorsitzender bavAIRia
President, HeiTech Consulting

Andreas Gundel

Andreas Gundel

Clustersprecher und Vorstand bavAIRia
Geschäftsführer CADCON Ingenieurgesellschaft mbH & Co. KG

Frank Negretti

Frank Negretti

Clustersprecher und Vorstand bavAIRia
Vorstand der OHB System AG

Peter Schwarz

Peter Schwarz

Clustergeschäftsführer