Logo of Cluster Initiative Bavaria

Biotechnology

BioM Biotech Cluster Development GmbH

With more than 240 companies active in the area of bio­technology and nearly 170 additional companies from the pharmaceutical sector as well as clinical research and de­velopment, Bavaria takes a leading position in medical and biopharmaceutical biotechnology in Germany.

The Biotechnology Cluster bundles the strengths of the sites in Munich/Martinsried (including Planegg-Mar­tinsried and Freising-Weihenstephan), Regensburg, and Northern Bavaria (Würzburg, Erlangen/Nuremberg, Bay­reuth), and actively integrates institutes from other Bavar­ian regions in the Bavaria-wide network.

The focus of the cluster's work is the identification, through active technology and product scouting by local partners at academic institutions, of research projects that can be commercialized. For promising ideas, the cluster organization offers the m4 Award as a special, Bavaria-wide funding program for project validation with the goal of founding an enterprise. Eight enterprises have already been founded by winning teams in the course of five ten­der offers to date.

A knowledge-based, highly innovative industry has developed over the past 20 years. Its international impor­tance is expressed through a global network of coopera­tion partners.

In the extremely protracted, high-risk, and expensive prod­uct development cycles for new medications, Bavaria has been able to establish itself as a location for the early iden­tification and validation of suitable drug candidates.

In addition to a number of successful SMEs with specific products or technology offerings, one of Europe's largest research and production facilities for biopharmaceuticals – Roche in Penzberg with currently more than 6,000 em­ployees – is located south of Munich. The complete value chain, from research to pre-clinical and clinical develop­ment to production, is a particular characteristic of this in­dustry that is firmly rooted in Bavaria.

Another key focal point of the network is the international image and presentation of the latest technologies and products of Bavarian companies along with the excellent scientific basis of research institutions in Bavaria.

Prof. Dr. Horst Domdey

Prof. Dr. Horst Domdey

Cluster Spokesman
Managing Director of BioM GmbH

Logo der Cluster Offensive Bayern

Biotechnologie

Innovationen für die Gesundheit

Mit gut 240 Biotechnologie-Unternehmen und rund 170 weiteren Unter­nehmen aus Pharma, klinischer Forschung und Entwicklung sowie Laborbedarf nimmt Bayern eine Spitzenposition in der medizinischen und biopharmazeutischen Biotechnologie in Deutschland ein.

Das Cluster Biotechnologie bündelt die Stärken der Standorte München (inklusive Planegg-Martinsried und Freising- Weihenstephan), Regensburg und Nordbayern (Würzburg, Erlangen/Nürnberg, Bayreuth) und bindet Unternehmen sowie Institute anderer bayerischer Regionen aktiv in das bayernweite Netzwerk ein.

Im Mittelpunkt der Clusterarbeit steht die Identifikation kommerzialisierbarer Forschungsprojekte über ein aktives Technologie- und Produkt-Scouting der Standortpartner an den akademischen Einrichtungen. Für erfolgversprechende Ideen bietet die Cluster­organisation den m4-Award als ein spezielles, bayernweites Förder­programm für die Projekt-Validierung mit dem Ziel der Unternehmens­­gründung an. Im Zuge der bisher fünf Ausschreibungen sind bereits acht Unternehmensgründungen von Gewinner-Teams erfolgt.

In den vergangenen 20 Jahren hat sich somit eine wissensbasierte, hochinnovative Branche entwickelt, deren internationaler Stellenwert durch ein globales Netzwerk an Kooperationspartnern zum Ausdruck kommt. In den extrem langwierigen, risikoreichen und teuren Produktentwicklungszyklen für neue Medikamente konnte sich Bayern als ein Standort für die frühe Identifikation und Validierung von geeigneten Medikamenten-Kandidaten etablieren.

Neben einer Vielzahl von erfolgreichen KMU mit spezifischen Produkten oder Technologieangeboten befindet sich südlich von München eine der europaweit größten Forschungs- und Produktionsstätten für Biopharmazeutika – Roche in Penzberg mit heute über 6.000 Beschäftigten. Die vollständige Wertschöpfungskette von der Forschung über die vorklinische und klinische Entwicklung bis hin zur Produktion ist ein besonderes Kennzeichen der Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der Branche im Freistaat.

Ein weiterer wesentlicher Schwerpunkt des Netzwerkes ist die internationale Außendarstellung und die Präsentation neuester Technologien und Produkte der bayerischen Unternehmen sowie der exzellenten wissenschaftlichen Basis in den Forschungseinrichtungen Bayerns.

Prof. Dr. Horst Domdey

Prof. Dr. Horst Domdey

Clustersprecher

Dr. Georg Kääb

Dr. Georg Kääb

Clustergeschäftsführer